Ends on

Thank you for your Colorado Poet Laureate nomination. Any organization or individual may nominate poets for consideration. Nominators should work closely with their choice to submit the nomination form and information requested. Self-nomination is also an option. The Colorado Poet Laureate must be a legal, full-time Colorado resident for at least three years prior to the nomination deadline. The Poet Laureate must also remain a resident of Colorado during the term of office and must pass a standard background check. Nominations must be submitted no later than February 1, 2023.

A completed Colorado Poet Laureate Nomination includes:

A) The fields in this form

B) Answers to the following questions in no more than 500 words each:

1. What is your vision of the role of a Poet Laureate?

2. Why would you like to be selected as the Poet Laureate of Colorado?

C) Resume or CV

D) Names and phone numbers of three references

E) List of publications and poetry readings

F) Up to ten pages of poetry

G) Video of a poetry reading (not more than five minutes) in .mp4 or .mov format

If you do not have all your files ready to upload when you create your account, please select SAVE DRAFT. Once you are ready to complete the full upload, click the submit button.

If you have any questions, please contact Mary Hickey at mary@coloradohumanities.org or 303-894-7951 x19.

The selection of Colorado Poet Laureate will be based on artistic excellence, a demonstrated history of community service in the advancement of poetry, and the ability to present poetry effectively. A panel of former laureates and poetry leaders will review nominations and make recommendations to the Governor, who will make the final selection.

The Poet Laureate will serve a four-year term beginning in July 2023. The Poet Laureate position was created to promote an appreciation of poetry in Colorado, to honor outstanding Colorado poets, and to serve as an active advocate for poetry, literacy, and literature by participating in readings and other events at schools, libraries, literary festivals, and the State Capitol. The Poet Laureate will also provide the Governor with an annual account of the impact and success of the Colorado Poet Laureate program. Colorado Humanities & Center for the Book and Colorado Creative Industries will annually supply the Poet Laureate with $5,000 honoraria and up to $5,000 public presentation travel expenses.

Colorado became one of the first states to have a Poet Laureate when Governor Oliver Shoup appointed Alice Polk Hill in 1919. Since then, eight other people have served: Nellie Burget Miller (1923-1952), Margaret Clyde Robertson (1952-1954), Milford E. Shields (1954), Thomas Hornsby Ferril (1979-1988), Mary Crow (1996-2010), David Mason (2010-2014), Joseph Hutchison (2014-2019), and Bobby LeFebre (2019-Present).

To learn more about the Poet Laureate’s history and role in the literary life of the state, and to sign up for Colorado Humanities & Center for the Book and Colorado Creative Industries newsletters, please visit  coloradohumanities.org and coloradocreativeindustries.org.

We use Submittable to accept and review our submissions.